Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Goal of the Year

22 February 2017

Club News

Goal of the Year

22 February 2017

EFL nominations now open!

The EFL have launched the search to find the Mitre Goal of the Year for 2016and we are asking for your help in deciding which of our goals from the last 12 months should be put forward as our nomination.


We can nominate one goal from anyEFL competition in the 2016 calendar year.


We want fans to help us decide our club nomination by voting in our Twitter poll pinned to the top of our timeline.

The choices are:

Jordan Roberts vs Bristol Rovers
Josh Yorwerth vs Exeter City
Kaby Djalo vs Cheltenham Town
Enzio Boldewijn vs Luton Town

April April 2017 at The Hilton Hotel on Park Lane, London.  A judging panel will then review the goals with a selection being shown on Channel 5’s Football on Five Goal Rush.  Fans will be given the opportunity to vote for goals to make the final shortlist of five, with the overall winner being decided at the glittering Awards ceremony at 9thOur nominated goal will then be entered in the Mitre Goal of the Year category at the EFL Awards on Sunday 9


Past winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year have been Marco Matias (Sheffield Wednesday), Joe Garner (Preston North End – 2014), Franck Moussa (Coventry City – 2013), Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest – 2012), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City – 2011), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2010), Nicky Maynard (Bristol City – 2009), Sylvain-Ebanks Blake (Wolverhampton Wanderers – 2008), Jermaine Beckford (Leeds United – 2007), Joe Ledley (Cardiff City – 2006) and Stefan Oakes (Notts County – 2005).


To find out more about the EFL Awards please

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account